You are currently viewing What are associated countries in Horizon Europe?

What are associated countries in Horizon Europe?

Associated countries to Horizon Europe are countries that signed an agreement with the European Union. This allows legal entities from these associated countries to participate under equivalent conditions as legal entities from the EU Member States, unless specific limitations or conditions are laid down in the work programme and/or call/topic text.

The associated countries to Horizon Europe are the following:

  1. Albania
  2. Armenia
  3. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  4. Faroe Islands
  5. Georgia
  6. Iceland
  7. Israel
  8. Kosovo
  9. Moldova
  10. Montenegro
  11. North Macedonia
  12. Norway
  13. Serbia
  14. Tunisia
  15. Turkey
  16. Ukraine

For the following countries, the association negotiations are being processed or association is imminent. In this case, the transitional arrangement set out in the General Annexes to the Horizon Europe Work Programme 2021-2022 is applicable (for the entire Programme, including ERC, EIC, EIT and the institutionalised European partnerships).

  • Morocco
  • United Kingdom

The UK will participate in all parts of the Horizon Europe programme with the only exception of the EIC Fund (which is part of the EIC Accelerator of Horizon Europe that provides investment through equity or other repayable form).

Legal entities established in Switzerland are currently not covered by the transitional arrangement. Liechtenstein does not intend to associate to Horizon Europe.

This list will be updated to reflect the status of the negotiations for association. Association to Horizon Europe is governed by the Horizon Europe Regulation 2021/6951.

Source and more information: List of participating Countries in Horizon Europe


Horizon Europe Online Manual:

To see whether your organisation is eligible for funding, check the call conditions on the Topic page.

In general, most EU funding programmes require that participants (Beneficiaries and Affiliated Entities) are:

  • legal entities (public or private bodies, including international organisations)


  • established in one of the eligible countries, i.e.:
  • EU Member State (including EU overseas countries and territories (OCTs))
  • eligible non-EU countries:
  • EEA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway — if opted-in for the programme)
  • associated countries (countries associated to the funding programme by paying a contribution — list differs for each programme).

Please be aware, however, that almost all programmes have additional criteria, which widen or narrow the group of entities that can apply. Some programmes are open to participants from the entire world (e.g. Horizon Europe) others are deliberately restricted to EU countries only (e.g. EDF).

In addition, the situation can be different from call to call even within a programme. It is therefore very important to carefully look at the call conditions.

Moreover, all participants (Beneficiaries, Affiliated Entities and Associated Partners) must be registered in the Participant Register and (by the time the grant is signed) be validated by the Central Validation Service (Beneficiaries and Affiliated Entities).

Leave a Reply