You are currently viewing Is Israel eligible for Horizon Europe?

Is Israel eligible for Horizon Europe?

Yes, Israel is now eligible for Horizon Europe. On the 6th of December 2021, it has signed the agreement with the European Union to become a third country associated to Horizon Europe. Therefore, legal entities from Israel can receive EU funding in Horizon Europe projects.

Israel’s association is an opportunity to continue and further deepen research cooperation with the focus on mutual priorities such as the twin green and digital transition, public health as well as ground-breaking innovation. The country has a long history of association to the EU Framework Programmes for Research and Innovation. Since 1996, it has been a successful cooperation with over 5000 joint research projects on record.

Multiple success stories arose, including the most recent award of the 2021 EU Prize for Women Innovators to Israel’s Daphne Haim Langford for her work on disruptive medical solutions to cure specific ocular diseases. Other examples of successful cooperation under Horizon 2020 include: an IT platform to handle extreme weather events – beAWARE; the hand-held sensor to detect cancer through a person’s breath – SniffPhone; Nano packaging material to reduce food waste – NANOPACK; greener aluminium production – ENEXAL; and smart road studs for greater road safety – InRoad – among others.

Israel has been associated to the EU Framework Programmes for research and innovation since 1996 with very high participation rates. In Horizon 2020, amongst the Associated Countries, Israel ranked third in terms of overall participation in the programme and was among the best performers in the European Innovation Council Pilot and in the SME instrument. Israel excelled in ICT, health, advanced manufacturing, food and biotechnology as well as environment and energy.

The list of participating Countries in Horizon Europe is available form the European Commission website and has been published on the 17th of June 2021. It lists all other countries eligible for Horizon Europe.